Wessex Young Athletes Track and Field League
Wessex Young Athletes
League Information
The sections below detail information about the Wessex Young Athletes League such as AGM minutes and league officials contact details. This information is designed for reference only, if you are looking to download things like declaration forms and track lists then see the Downloads page.

League Information

The Wessex Track and Field Young Athletes League started back in 1989 as the Andover Doves league with just a handful of clubs competing in the under thirteen age group. As time went on the number of clubs and age groups competing slowly increased to include under fifteen, seventeen and twenty age groups (there is also separate under eleven's challenge).

Despite several dips in its fortunes and name changes, the competition has prospered, thanks to a dedicated group of enthusiasts, largely as a development competition for clubs, big and small in the "Wessex" area.

Clubs compete on a league basis of four matches evenly spread around as much as possible on a club strength and geographical basis. Trophies are awarded to the league champions as well as age groups. Medals are awarded to athletes of the match (boys and girls in both track and field events). In addition at the end of the season any record breakers are also awarded medals.

In order to keep costs down, virtually all admin etc is carried out by email. As a result, annual subscriptions, helped by some modest sponsorship, are kept to a minimum.

Several well known names hold league records in their age groups. They include Robert Tobin (Basingstoke) 400m, Sian Scott (Bournemouth) 300m, Hannah England (Oxford) 800m, Kelly Morgan (Salisbury) javelin and Holly Mills (Andover) long jump just to name a few.

League Officials

To contact any league official please email league@wessexleaguetandf.co.uk
President Tim Wilding (New Forest Juniors)
Vice President Nigel Harding (Poole AC)
Chairman Nick Bull (Team Kennet)
Vice Chairperson Laura White (Camberley)
Secretary & Website Darryn Campbell
Quad Kids Co-ordinator Bill Bingham (Waverley Harriers)
Treasurer Cheryl Angell (Team Kennet)
League Records /
Athletics Weekly
Nigel Harding (Poole AC)
Welfare Officer Cheryl Angell (Team Kennet)
League Coordinators Nick Bull (Team Kennet)
Cheryl Angell (Team Kennet)
Laura White (Camberley)
Mark Bradford (Andover)
Tim Wilding (New Forest Juniors)
Susan French (Basingstoke)
Richard Beck (WADC)
Steve Hill (Woking AC)

League Rules - updated November 2018

AGM Minutes

Please find below the minutes of the Wessex League Anual General meetings dating back to 2005. Unless otherwise stated the AGM took place at Andover Athletic Club

League Constitution

Name This shall be the Wessex Young Athletes Track and Field League.
Objectives The objective of the league is to promote amateur athletics.
Membership The league shall consist of amateurs, according to the national governing body definition of amateur.
Application for membership shall be made in writing to the league secretary and approved by a majority of the management committee.
Each Club shall pay a subscription decided at the Annual General Meeting.
Subscriptions must be paid before the start of the current Season.
To resign, a member must inform the league secretary in writing.
Any Club guilty of misconduct (i.e. behaviour contrary to the Constitution) may be cautioned once or expelled from the league by a majority decision of the management committee.
Any club expelled will have the right to appeal to the Management committee meeting called at their request not later than two weeks from the date of expulsion.
Management The management committee shall consist of Chairman, League Secretary, League Treasurer, Under 11’s Secretary and Officials Secretary.
The management committee shall meet at least twice a year.
A quorum for the management committee shall be three.
All decisions will be by majority vote; the chairman shall have a casting vote in the event of a tie.
The management committee has the power to co-opt extra members up to the limit of three; to create trustees, and form
a sub-committee as and when considered necessary.
An auditor who is not a committee member must be elected annually by the AGM.
Annual General Meeting The AGM will be held during November/December and the following business under taken:
The report will be read and discussed.
The audited accounts will be presented.
The officers will be elected.
Motions to be discussed must be submitted in writing to the league secretary at least one week before the meeting.
A majority decision shall change standing orders or rules.
One third of all paid up members will constitute a quorum.
The Chairman shall have the casting vote.
Amendments to the Constitution The management committee, by majority at a quorum meeting, to the may propose amendments to the constitution. The changes may be made only at the AGM or an extra-ordinary general meeting called for that purpose. Two weeks notice must be given for EGM. A quorum shall consist of one quarter of the membership. If the motion is passed by majority vote, the amendment to the constitution will be adopted.
Alternatively, five ordinary paid up and voting members may petition the Hon. Secretary in writing, to call an EGM in which the conditions in the previous paragraph will apply with respect to calling the meeting and voting at it.
Voting rights as at the AGM.
Dissolution The management committee, by majority vote at a quorum meeting, may decide to dissolve the league. They must then call an EGM giving two weeks notice to all clubs. If the motion is passed by majority vote the league is then dissolved.
Alternatively five ordinary paid up members may petition the Hon. Secretary in writing to call a EGM in which the conditions in the previous paragraph will apply with respect to calling the meeting and voting at it.
Voting rights as at the AGM pertain.
Upon dissolution any funds remaining after all debts have been met will be shared equally among the remaining clubs.
Date This constitution was adopted at a meeting held on 18th December 2005.
League Chairman Nick Bull
League Secretary Tim Wilding